2010 Garden

This gardening season marks the thrid season I have gardened with the North Park Village Garden Club.  This year I am going solo with my garden, for the past two years I shared with a friend.  All the work that we have put into the garden these past two years is really paying off, the soil is easily cultivated and we have a number perennials that are flourishing.  It has been pretty easy so far to work the garden alone, but not as much fun.

Yesterday I took the kids to the garden where we met my former plot mate and her children.  It was really nice to be gardening again together, and watching the kids play together around the garden.  We installed a rabbit fence around my Swiss Chard to keep the bunnies from nibbling it, I am glad that Deb was there to help because it was more difficult than I had anticipated.  You can see the fence we made at the front of the garden.

This is one of our collard greens plants, we have three in the garden this year.

The tall plant behind the collard is a rhubarb plant, I think it is green rhubarb.  We planted this last year or maybe even the year before but this is the first year it has gotten big and full.  I am sure that each year it will get bigger and better.

Herbs and Swiss Chard

Here is my swiss chard before the fence was finished.  There are also some onions, lavender, chives and iris bulbs that have not come up planted in the area.

If you are thinking about planting a garden swiss chard should be on your list on veggies to plant.  It is easy and you will get chard through the fall.  For every stalk that to take if you snap it off from the very bottom another stalk will grow.

I love swiss chard!!

Herbs

This is at the front of the garden plot and this is where most of my herbs are.  Many of them came up from last year.

There are also two asparagus plants behind the log that is standing upright.  They are very wispy looking so they might be hard to see.  I planted those last year and so this will be the first year we will get asparagus.  Yeah!

In the space in front of the asparagus I think we will plant something really easy like radishes or beets.

Kale and onions

At the front of this picture you can see the asparagus better.  The patch of dirt here will be planted soon but I have to decide what to plant first.  Behind the patch of dirt I have about 10 kale plants and some red onions.  There is also a pot in the back that the kids got me for Mothers Day which has strawberries in it.

Ewan is my garden helper!!

Ewan has wanted to turn the hose on from the moment we got to the garden.  He was really happy when I was finally done working and he would be the watering man.  He did a great job and I had a blast watching him work in our garden!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kate d
    May 17, 2010 @ 15:12:12

    wow! I’m totally impressed! it looks beautiful and you are going to have a ton of yummy stuff! very cool.

    Reply

Leave a comment